Congress to Campus

Congress to Campus

Promoting greater public understanding of the United States and its history, culture and politics is at the heart of the RAI’s mission.

a group of individuals participating in congress to congress

Each year, the RAI hosts Congress to Campus. This day-long event brings two former Members of Congress – one Democrat, one Republican – to the Institute to discuss American politics and government with local school and university students. It is organised with the US Association of Former Members of Congress and the Eccles Centre for American Studies at the British Library, with support from the US Embassy, London.

The former Members of Congress offer local school and university students insights into how American democracy works by sharing their real-life experiences as candidates and office-holders. You can watch the last Congress to Campus, which took place online in March 2021 with former Members of Congress Ben Chandler (Democrat-KY, 2004-2013) and Ann Marie Buerkle (Republican-NY, 2011-13), here.

The next Congress to Campus event will be in November 2022. If you are a student, or a teacher at a local school, and would like to find out more about participating in Congress to Campus, please email





congress to campus event flyer


Former Members of Congress who have visited the RAI through Congress to Campus:

2021: Ben Chandler (Democrat-KY, 2004-2013) and Ann Marie Buerkle (Republican-NY, 2011-13)

2020: Elizabeth Esty (D-Connecticut, 2013-19) and Jeff Miller (R-Florida, 2001-17)

2019: Charles Boustany (R-Louisiana, 2005-17) and Donna Edwards (D-Maryland, 2008-17)

2018: Jim McDermott (D-Wahington, 1989-2017) and Tim Murphy (R-Pennsylvania, 2003-2017)

2017: Vic Fazio (D-California, 1979-99) and Randy Neugebauer (R-Texas, 2003-17)

2016: Larry LaRocco (D-Idaho, 1991-95) and Ken Kramer (R-Colorado, 1979-87)

2015: Dennis Hertel (D-Michigan, 1981-93) and Claudine Schneider (R-Rhode Island, 1981-91)

2014: Bob Clement (D-Tennessee, 1988-2003) and James Coyne (R-Pennsylvania, 1981-83)

2013: Bob Carr (D-Michigan, 1975-81, 1983-95) and Cliff Stearns (R-Florida, 1989-2013)

2012: Rick Boucher (D-Virginia, 1983-2011) and Mike Oxley (R-Ohio, 1981-2007)

2011: Bart Gordon (D-Tennessee, 1985-2011) and Steven Kuykendall (R-California, 1999-2001)

2010: David Skaggs (D-Colorado, 1987-1999) and Nick Smith (R-Michigan, 1993-2005)

2009: Dan Miller (R-Florida, 1993-2003) and Carlos Romero-Barcelo (New Progressive Party, Puerto Rico, 1993-2001)