Harold Vyvyan Harmsworth Visiting Professor of American History

Lincoln Election Ticket

The Harmsworth Professorship was established by the 1st Viscount Rothermere in memory of his son Vyvyan, who died in the First World War.

The Professorship makes Oxford unique among British universities by every year enabling a distinguished American historian to spend a year in Oxford teaching, researching and leading seminars.

Inaugurated in 1922, the Professorship has been held by many of America's most eminent historians and is tenable on a year-long basis. Since 2001, Professors have been affiliated to both Queen's College and the RAI.

The Professor’s inaugural lecture takes place each November. A volume collecting the lectures from 1922 to 2010 has been published by the RAI and is available in the Vere Harmsworth Library and Queen's College Library.

Harold Vyvyan Harmsworth Visiting Professors of American History

Peter Mancall, University of Southern California (2019)
Barbara Savage, University of Pennsylvania (2018)
Elliott West, University of Arkansas (2017)
Alan Taylor, University of Virginia (2016)
Kristin Hoganson, University of Illinois (2015)
Annette Gordon-Reed, Harvard University (2014)
Richard Blackett, Vanderbilt University  (2013)
Gary Gerstle, Vanderbilt University (2012)
Philip Morgan, Johns Hopkins University (2011)
Ian Tyrrell, University of New South Wales (2010)
Robin Kelley, University of Southern California (2009)
Peter Onuf, University of Virginia (2008)
Lizabeth Cohen, Harvard University (2007)
Linda Kerber, University of Iowa (2006)
Kathryn Kish Sklar, Binghamton University (2005)
Joel Silbey, Cornell University (2004)
Richard Beeman, University of Pennsylvania (2003)
Melvyn P. Leffler, University of Virginia (2002)
David A. Hollinger, University of California, Berkeley (2001)
Timothy Breen, Northwestern University (2000)
Robin W. Winks, Yale University (1999)
Alan Brinkley, Columbia University (1998)
Ernest R. May, Harvard University (1997)
Robert Middlekauff, University of California, Berkeley (1996)
David Kennedy, Stanford University (1995)
Robert Dallek, UCLA (1994)
Eric Foner, Columbia University (1993)
John Lewis Gaddis, Ohio University (1992)
James A. Henretta, University of Maryland (1991)
Joyce O. Appleby, UCLA (1990)
Daniel W. Howe, UCLA (1989)
George M. Fredrickson, Stanford University (1988)
Richard S. Dunn, University of Pennsylvania (1987)
David Montgomery, Yale University (1986)
David Hackett Fischer, Brandeis University (1985)
J. Morgan Kousser, CalTech (1984)
John W. Shy, University of Michigan (1983)
Samuel Hays, University of Pittsburgh (1982)
James T. Patterson, Brown University (1981)
Morton Keller, Brandeis University (1980)
Eric L. McKitrick, Columbia University (1979)
Norman A. Graebner, University of Virginia (1978)
Willie Lee Rose, Johns Hopkins University (1977)
John M. Blum, Yale University (1976)
Jack P. Greene, Johns Hopkins University (1975)
Richard C. Wade, City University of New York (1974)
Carl N. Degler, Stanford University (1973)
Oscar Handlin, Harvard University (1972)
William E. Leuchtenberg, University of North Carolina (1971)
Charles G. Sellers, University of California, Berkeley (1970)
David Brion Davis, Cornell University (1969)
Fletcher M. Green, University of North Carolina (1968)
Don E. Fehrenbacher, Stanford University (1967)
T. Harry Williams, Louisiana State University (1966)
Bell I. Wiley, Emory University (1965)
Allan Nevins, Columbia Unviersity (1964)
Frank E. Vandiver, Rice University (1963)
Richard N. Current, University of North Carolina (1962)
Kenneth M. Stampp, University of California, Berkeley (1961)
George E. Mowry, UCLA (1960)
David H. Donald, Columbia University (1959)
Arthur S. Link, Princeton University (1958)
Walter Johnson, University of Chicago (1957)
Arthur Bestor, University of Illinois (1956)
Frank B. Friedel, Harvard University (1955)
C. Vann Woodward, Johns Hopkins University (1954)
Ray A. Billington, Northwestern University (1953)
Henry Steele Commager, Columbia University (1952)
Lawrence H. Gipson, Lehigh University (1951)
Charles S. Sydnor, Duke University (1950)
Merrill Jensen, University of Wisconsin (1949)
Louis M. Hacker, Columbia University (1948)
David M. Potter, Yale University (1947)
Walt W. Rostow, U.S. State Department (1946)
Vacant (1945)
Thomas J. Wertenbaker, Princeton University (1944)
Vacant (1943)
Walter Prescott Webb, University of Texas (1942)
Vacant (1941)
Allan Nevins, Columbia University (1940)
Thomas J. Wertenbaker, Princeton University (1939)
Robert M. McElroy, Princeton University (1925-1939)
Samuel E. Morison, Harvard University (1922-1925)