Historical Indian treaties in American and Canadian constitutional contexts

Relations between colonising states and Native American/First Nation peoples were defined by numerous treaties. The United States alone signed and ratified at least 367 such documents until Congress abolished the practice in 1871. Many treaties remain in force to this day, both in the United States and in Canada.

Dale Turner is Associate Professor of Government and of Native American Studies at Dartmouth College, and has written on Native American philosophy and sovereignty and their relationship with liberal political theory. He is a citizen of the Temagami First Nation.